INFORMATION BLITZ: Paalala sa mga OFW-members ng PhilHealth: Ang PhilHealth membership and contribution ay MANDATORY ayon sa batas kaya magpamiyembro at magbayad ng kontribusyon bago umalis ng bansa. Seguraduhin ang proteksyon ng kalusugan ng iyong sarili at pamilya.

Wednesday, May 6, 2015

NGAs, LGUs convene for ASAP program implementation

By Claro A. Lanipa

PAGADIAN CITY – National Government Agencies (NGAs) involved in the implementation of the Accelerated and Sustainable Anti-Poverty Program (ASAP) led by the Department of Environment and Natural Resources  convened here recently to discuss the implementation of the said program.

DENR-9 Regional Director Arleigh J. Adorable, ASAP lead convenor in the region, said the said program is the product of the survey conducted by the Human Development and Poverty Reduction Cabinet Cluster and NEDA Board-Social Development Committee to address the poverty problem in the country to achieve inclusive growth among the populace.

Ten provinces across the country were identified as pilot areas with high number of poor families, but not necessarily the poorest provinces for the implementation of this program, namely, Pangasinan, Quezon, Camarines Sur, Negros Occidental, Iloilo, Cebu, Leyte, Zamboanga del Sur, Davao del Sur and Sulu.

In Zamboanga del Sur, the municipalities of Mahayag, Aurora and Kumalarang were identified as potential areas to be developed and be converted to economic hub that can be radiated to other provinces or municipalities.

On the other hand, NEDA-9 Assistant Regional Director Phlorita Ridao in her presentation disclosed that the over-all goal of ASAP is to sustainably address the unfinished business of reducing poverty in the last 500 days of the Aquino administration, which is to hit our Philippine Development Plan (PDP) target of reducing the poverty incidence of the country to 18-20 percent.

Present during the meeting was the chairman of ASAP and focal point person of the Human Development and Poverty Reduction Cabinet Cluster and NEDA Board  Social Development Committee Undersecretary Patrocinio Jude Esquerra III together with the vice chairman, NEDA Assistant Secretary Michelle Angelica Go, who presided over the meeting.

The regional directors and representatives of DENR, NEDA, DOLE, TESDA, DOH, DepEd, DSWD, DA,DILG, DAR, PCA, BFAR, NYC, CHED and PIA came to participate in the said meeting.

Provincial Administrator Anthony Padayhag together with some provincial officials, Mahayag Mayor Lorna Espina, Kumalarang Mayor Eugenio Salva and Planning Officer Leo Acenas representing Mayor Boen Dorotheo of Aurora town Cabahug turned up in the said gathering.